The Paisley Reader

Reading the Alphabet is now the Paisley Reader: YA and NA book reviews and more!

B: Behind the Mirror

Image from carmencaine.com
Amazon Image

Behind the Mirror by Madison Adler

As you may know by now, I began this blog two weeks after I started reading the alphabet, and thus the reviews of these first few books (really up through I), were written anywhere between two weeks to two days after I had finished the book (editing of said reviews happened the day before they were posted on the blog).

When it came time to write for my “B” book, I had no recall of what book I had read, forcing me to scroll through my Kindle to find it.  Usually that wouldn’t bode well for a book, but this was the pleasant exception.

Behind the Mirror, the first book I have read by Madison Adler or her other name Carmen Caine, is a prelude to the first book in The Glass Wall series.  It was so short that it didn’t take long to read at all, was short enough for me to forget the name of the book, but long enough for me to fall into the book’s storyline and make me want to read the rest of the series.  I remember a week into my reading the alphabet, a storyline involving blue fate lines and those who can see the lines, as well as dark and light faeries popped into my head, and a teenage girl who seemed to be the key to everything did too, but I couldn’t for the life of my remember from where.  I even for a while thought that I had abandoned the book mid-read.

I NEVER do that.

When I rediscovered the title, I was relieved.  Behind the Mirror as I said above is a short story, maybe 20 pages if it was in print.  I hadn’t abandoned the book.

The prelude introduced a complex and interrelated cast, most importantly for the sake of this story: three Fate Trackers, and one girl from earth.  Behind the Mirror follows Rafael, a Fate Tracker, on his way to Earth from his world.  His character is well developed for a story this length and if the other characters are described with equal effort in the first Glass Wall book, I predict good things for the series overall.  I hope to, and I’m sure I will, learn more about the faery world in future books.

That I can neither get this brief storyline nor the characters out of my head proves that this prelude did its job and now I must read on and begin the series.

Thank you, Madison Adler, I look forward to reading more from you.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply. I Look Forward To Hearing From You! I try to reply, if it's not here, then check a post on your blog. :)