The Paisley Reader

Reading the Alphabet is now the Paisley Reader: YA and NA book reviews and more!

Feature and Follow Friday #2

bloglovin follows

Feature and Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. For more information on this neat blog hop, to see other bloggers’ Feature and Follow posts for this question, and to sign up check out both of those blogs at the links I’ve provided. It’s a great way to discover new bloggers and learn a thing or two about everyone who participates.

The question this week is:

How do you handle a book you don’t like? Do you DNF or do you power through?

I have a hard time not finishing a book that I don’t like.  Being an aspiring writer, I know that it is hard to write, and part of me really wants to support the author just by finishing the book.  It also depends on why I’m not liking the book.  Not liking it because it is poorly written is much different than not liking it because the book has something that completely turns me off from it (ie. needlessly killing animals, abusive teenage relationships, etc.).  I also always hold out hope that the book will do something to redeem itself.  I’m always trying to pick out the positives.  I will say though, that once I finish them, books that I don’t like immediately go into my TDP (to donate pile) immediately after reading.  I do at some point see a time when I will start to not finish the books that I just don’t like.

So what do you do with books you don’t like?

Let me know in the comments below, and if you are participating, leave me a link to your Feature and Follow Friday so I can go check it out.

6 comments on “Feature and Follow Friday #2

  1. S. M. Boyce
    08/02/2013

    I’m impressed that you power through. I can’t, usually. If I’m not into a book by halfway, I put it down. I once read a book to 80% because I kept expecting it to get better, and by that time I wasn’t rooting for any characters anymore.

    Though I definitely understand the author’s plight (writing & publishing a book is rough), I also respect that not every book is for every reader. It’s totally okay, and I don’t feel terrible if I don’t finish a book. But that’s just me.

    Keep on posting! I’m really enjoying your blog.

    • Maria P
      08/03/2013

      It’s true, not every book is for every reader, but I won’t read things that don’t sound like they’ll be for me, so if I picked up a book thinking I’ll like it chances are I’ll find something that keeps me going. It’s so rare for me to have a DNF that I can’t remember the last one.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Mia Hoddell
    08/03/2013

    Usually I will give a book 50-100 pages before I DNF if I’m not enjoying it. I used to power through but I no longer have the time due to my own writing commitments and it turned reading into a chore. There are too many books on my tbr pile for me to feel guilty and I’m picky about what I read, so only have 1 DNF so far!

    New follower 🙂

    Mia Hoddell

    Gift card giveaway -> more entries = more money given away

    • Maria P
      08/03/2013

      In reality, I really am picky too, so I rarely pick up a book I don’t like and the likelihood of finding something that is redeeming enough to make it finishable is pretty good.

      Thanks for stopping! I’m following you back now! 🙂

  3. Sometimes it is indeed good to power through, because some books get interesting after say 200 pages, when I would have long given up the book. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Maria P
      08/04/2013

      I always hope that they are interesting way before 200 pages in, of course, but yes, some books just take a while longer to get going and get good. Case in point? I had the hardest time getting through the beginning of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. The first 50-some-odd pages crawled for me and the book easily could have been a DNF if I gave up around then. That would have been such a shame. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply. I Look Forward To Hearing From You! I try to reply, if it's not here, then check a post on your blog. :)

Information

This entry was posted on 08/02/2013 by in Books, Feature and Follow and tagged , , , .